Hypothetical situation: The Red Sox are playing the Mariners. Terry Francona decides that he wants to give David Ortiz the day off, so he sets his lineup with Alex Cora as the D.H. and bats him 9th. After a scoreless 1st inning, the Red Sox have the bases loaded and two out, when Francona decides to send Ortiz in to pinch hit in order to take advantage of the situation and not squander a scoring opportunity.
Rule 6.10 (b) "The Rule provides as follows: A hitter may be designated to bat for the starting pitcher and all subsequent pitchers in any game without otherwise affecting the status of the pitcher(s) in the game. A Designated Hitter for the pitcher must be selected prior to the game and must be included in the lineup cards presented to the Umpire in Chief. The designated hitter named in the starting lineup must come to bat at least one time, unless the opposing club changes pitchers. It is not mandatory that a club designate a hitter for the pitcher, but failure to do so prior to the game precludes the use of a Designated Hitter for that game. Pinch hitters for a Designated Hitter may be used. Any substitute hitter for a Designated Hitter becomes the Designated Hitter. A replaced Designated Hitter shall not re enter the game in any capacity. The Designated Hitter may be used defensively, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player, unless more than one substitution is made, and the manager then must designate their spots in the batting order. A runner may be substituted for the Designated Hitter and the runner assumes the role of Designated Hitter. A Designated Hitter may not pinch run. A Designated Hitter is "locked" into the batting order. No multiple substitutions may be made that will alter the batting rotation of the Designated Hitter. Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once a pinch hitter bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game to pitch, this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once the game pitcher bats for the Designated Hitter this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. (The game pitcher may only pinch hit for the Designated Hitter). Once a Designated Hitter assumes a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. A substitute for the Designated Hitter need not be announced until it is the Designated Hitter's turn to bat."
Ortiz is sent back to the bench by the homeplate ump, and is not officially entered into the game. He can still be used later in the game if Francona want's.
Answer #10 Ernie Lombardi (1938) Bucky Walters (1939) Frank McCormick (1940) Frank Robinson (1961) Johnny Bench (1970 and 1972) Pete Rose (1973) Joe Morgan (1975 and 1976) George Foster (1977) Barry Larkin (1995)
Question #11 Hypothetical situation Reds are at the Brewers, top of the 7th inning. The Reds have Freel at third, Gonzales at second, and Phillips at first with one out. Ned Yost calls time discusses to pitcher Ben Sheets how to pitch to Ken Griffey Jr. After his discussion, Sheets proceeds to throw three consecutive pitches out of the strikezone. Garner calls time out again, and goes to his pitcher to calm him down, but not remove him. The home plate umpire walks up to the mound, and by rule he..... 5 points
Answer #11 I had a feeling this would trip some of you up. The key to the proper answer is in the timing of the trip. Due to the fact that Yost came out twice in the same at-bat, by rule the plate umpire ejects Yost from the game. Also by rule, Sheets remains in the game until the batter (in this case Griffey) is either retired or gets on base. After that, he is also ejected from the game. Had Yost made the trip to the maond in the same inning, but during a different batter, only Sheets would be gone.
Rule 8.06 (d) if a pinch hitter is substituted for this batter, the manager or coach may make a second visit to the mound, but must remove the pitcher. A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber. If the manager or coach goes to the catcher or infielder and that player then goes to the mound or the pitcher comes to him at his position before there is an intervening play (a pitch or other play) that will be the same as the manager or coach going to the mound. Any attempt to evade or circumvent this rule by the manager or coach going to the catcher or an infielder and then that player going to the mound to confer with the pitcher shall constitute a trip to the mound. If the coach goes to the mound and removes a pitcher and then the manager goes to the mound to talk with the new pitcher, that will constitute one trip to that new pitcher that inning. In a case where a manager has made his first trip to the mound and then returns the second time to the mound in the same inning with the same pitcher in the game and the same batter at bat, after being warned by the umpire that he cannot return to the mound, the manager shall be removed from the game and the pitcher required to pitch to the batter until he is retired or gets on base. After the batter is retired, or becomes a base runner, then this pitcher must be removed from the game. The manager should be notified that his pitcher will be removed from the game after he pitches to one hitter, so he can have a substitute pitcher warmed up. The substitute pitcher will be allowed eight preparatory pitches or more if in the umpire's judgment circumstances justify.
Question #12 3 points Who am I? I won Rookie of the Year, a Cy Young award, an ERA title, two strikeout titles, fanned 16 batters in a game three times, and pitched for a World Series winner all before I turned 22. I have a no-hitter, and I was also on World Series winners for two teams in the same city.